Regulatory Affairs and Higher Education Compliance

State Authorization or Registration to Operate and State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA)

As a leading provider of high quality, affordable programs in education, business, and healthcare, Ƶ makes every effort to ensure it operates in compliance with federal and state laws and regulations. ACE currently offers academic degree and certificate programs and courses in all 50 states plus the District of Columbia:

  • Maintains state authorization or registration to operate in 6 states; and
  • Is permitted to operate in 45 SARA participating states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico (see below for additional information related to SARA).

State Authorization or Registration to Operate

State authorization or registration to operate is the legal authorization ACE maintains in order to provide post-secondary education in a state in which it is not physically located or in which it is otherwise subject to jurisdiction as determined by the state. Because not all states require institutions to be authorized or registered to operate and the activities that require authorization vary, ACE continuously monitors regulations in all states in which it offers its academic programs and courses.

View State Information

State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA) States

On December 8, 2014, the College received recognition as an institutional participant in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA) from the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA). Per NC-SARA, SARA “establishes a state-level reciprocity process that will support the nation in its efforts to increase the educational attainment of its people” by mandating that institutions only need home state authorization in order to offer distance education to any other SARA member state. For ACE students, this means that the institution is able to expand its offering of academic programs to residents of SARA participant states, while maintaining the same level of high quality on which the College was founded under the sole regulatory oversight of the Indiana Board for Proprietary Education – its home state regulator. This list is subject to change as a result of SARA agreements with states.

ACE offers all or a selection of its academic programs in the following SARA participant states (Note: ACE’s home state of Indiana, a SARA participant state, is not listed):  Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, D.C., Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming.


Bahamas Institutional Recognition

Ƶ has been granted Institutional Recognition status by The National Accreditation & Equivalency Council of The Bahamas (NAECOB).

The Institutional Recognition status does not suggest that Ƶ now has accreditation with NAECOB.

Institutional Recognition status indicates that the institution currently holds full accreditation status from international or regional accreditation bodies recognized by NAECOB. NAECOB’s Institutional Recognition permits the institution to recruit for and offer educational programs in The Bahamas.

Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of Ƶ’s Institutional Recognition to a representative of NAECOB. Their contact information is outlined below:

The National Accreditation and Equivalency Council of The Bahamas (NAECOB)
RND Plaza West
John F. Kennedy Drive
P.O. Box N-3913
Nassau, The Bahamas
Telephone: 328-8872/3
Email: [email protected]

Close Chat