ACE Alumni Achievement Award

Celebrating you and your achievements.

Honoring You

The Ƶ Alumni Achievement Award is given to an alumnus who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and provided outstanding service to ACE. Created in 2012, it is presented by the academic dean every year during ACE’s commencement ceremony. 

All ACE alumni are eligible to receive this award. All nominees must be in graduate status. The award recipient receives a commemorative plaque and the opportunity to speak in-person during the award year’s commencement ceremony.

Nominations are now closed for the 2024 Alumni Achievement Award.


Previous Recipients

2023 | Caitlyn Robinson

M.Ed. in Special Education | 2020

M.Ed. in Teacher Leadership | 2022

Part B, Section 619 Coordinator | Louisiana Department of Education

Founder | SpedTacular Kids of Central and Central Inclusive League

2022 | Dr. Peter Shipley

Ed.D. in Leadership | 2018

Senior Manager of Research, Planning and Curriculum Design Unit | Ontario Provincial Police

Order of Merit recipient from the Governor | General of Canada

2021 | Valerie Gaynor

M.Ed. in Educational Leadership | 2015

Director of education | Guy Harvey Ocean Foundation

K-12 science coordinator for Environmental Studies Center | Martin County School District

Jensen Beach, Florida

2020 | Tyler Burklund

M.Ed. in Educational Leadership | 2017

Special education director | Hancock County Educational Service Center

Findlay, Ohio

2019 | David Reichard

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction | 2019

Mathematics and special education | Seneca Valley High School

2018 | Michael Weissberg

Ed.S. in Leadership | 2018

Adjunct professor | Florida International University and Miami Dade College

2017 | Luis Pentón Herrera

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction | 2014

Graduate Certificate in English as a Second Language | 2013

Adjunct faculty | University of Maryland University College

2016 | Natalie Pelham

M.Ed. Curriculum and Instruction | 2014

Adjunct professor | College of Education, University of North Florida

2015 | Justice Stamps

M.Ed. Educational Technology | 2014

Executive director | Marion Nzinga Stamps Literature Academy

Chicago, Illinois 

Summer 2014 | Dave Stuart, Jr.

M.Ed. Curriculum and Instruction | 2014

High school teacher | Cedar Springs High School

Cedar Springs, Michigan

Winter 2014 | Shawn Wigg

M.Ed. Educational Leadership | 2013

Awarded 2013 Florida Governor’s Shine Award for demonstrating excellence in education

Florida Virtual School

Orlando, Florida

Summer 2013 | Samantha Reid

M.Ed. Curriculum and Instruction, Educational Leadership | 2013

High school French teacher | St. Elizabeth, Jamaica

Winter 2013 | Kristen Rulison

Master of Education | 2012

Palm Beach County’s Macy’s Teacher of the Year

Reading specialist | Palm Beach County Schools

Palm Beach, Florida

Summer 2012 | Jeremy Heck

M.Ed. in Educational Leadership | 2012

Assistant principal | Indian Oaks Academy

Manteno, Illinois

Alumni Achievement Award FAQs

When is the application deadline?

Who qualifies for the Alumni Achievement Award?

What counts as “exceptional leadership” and “outstanding service” to ACE?

Who determines the award recipient?

What will the award recipient receive?

What is expected of the Alumni Achievement honoree?

Close Chat